What We Do
Protect Threatened Resources Advance Public Policy Foster Local Preservation Offer Technical Assistance Make Grants and Loans Excellence Awards space
space space




cv Preservation League of New York State

The Preservation League: Making Sure Our Past Has a Future.

In New York State, preservation and reuse of our historic buildings is fundamental to the economic revitalization of our cities, towns, and villages. The restoration of our historic neighborhoods, Main Streets, and underutilized buildings continues to create jobs, provide housing, promote tourism, stimulate private investment, and conserve energy, resources, and open space. Our annual Awards program allows us to highlight projects that could one day provide new examples of best practices in historic preservation.

We invite you to join us in celebrating the preservation of New York State’s unique built and natural environment by submitting a nomination. Self-nominations are allowed and encouraged. There is no entrance fee. The League especially encourages nominations that may provide case studies or models incorporating energy efficiency, adaptive reuse, or New York’s Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit program. Previous award winners are on our website at www.preservenys.org .

read the news release

Download 2015 Nomination ForM (PDF)



award categories

Applauds outstanding preservation, restoration or rehabilitation projects completed by architects, landscape architects, engineers, planners, developers, preservationists or property owners. Self-nominations are permitted. Nominated projects may include but need not be limited to landscapes, buildings, Main Streets, rural resources and private residences. Nominated projects need not be listed on or determined eligible for the National Register of Historic Places, but The Secretary of the Interior's Standards for the Treatment of Historic Properties with Guidelines for Preserving, Rehabilitating, Restoring and Reconstructing Historic Buildings should be reflected in the nominated work. The Standards are neither technical nor prescriptive, but are intended to promote responsible preservation practices that help protect our Nation's irreplaceable cultural resources. For more information on the Standards, please visit http://www.nps.gov/history/hps/tps/standguide/
Organizations and Communities
Honors municipalities, community groups, nonprofit organizations and neighborhood associations whose advocacy, public awareness, publications, legal battles and other preservation efforts have demonstrated heroic dedication to New York’s historic resources.
Recognizes creative, inspirational leaders whose efforts have encouraged the protection of historic resources, and strengthened the historic preservation movement in New York State. The Individual Award celebrates government officials, community leaders, local business owners, journalists and other dedicated individuals who have succeeded in protecting New York’s heritage.
Acknowledges exceptional published surveys, historic structure or landscape reports, histories, brochures, technical briefs or other preservation publications that have been instrumental in successful preservation projects and goals.
The Excellence in Historic Preservation Awards Jury reserves the right not to make an award in any particular category.
Selection of Award winners will be guided by the following general criteria, which may not apply equally to each category:

- degree of difficulty of problems or threats faced and the creativity and appropriateness of the solutions applied.
- impact of leader, program, organization or project on the community, region or state.

- degree of imaginative and resourceful collaborative efforts among individuals, communities, organizations, project leaders and consultants.
- project design sensitivity to the historic character and fabric of the property, and degree of preservation or restoration achieved.
- project execution representing the best preservation practice and use of appropriate techniques.

nomination process
Nominations must be postmarked by February 12, 2015, and must include the nomination form and all of the supporting materials as specified. The Preservation League regrets that it cannot return submitted materials. Eligible nominations will be evaluated by the Excellence in Historic Preservation Awards Jury, which is appointed by the Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Preservation League. All nominators will be notified of the status of their nomination by April 1, 2015. The awards will be presented on May 13, 2015 at the New York Yacht Club in New York City.

All nominations must have been executed in New York State, and must have been completed between January 1, 2012 and January 1, 2015.  Historic resources need not be listed in the State or National Registers of Historic Places, but resources must have demonstrated historic or architectural significance.

Postmark Deadline for nominations is on or before February 12, 2015
Mail to:
Awards Committee
Preservation League of New York State
44 Central Avenue
Albany, NY 12206

For further information, contact Colleen Ryan at 518-462-5658 ext.17 or by

The Excellence in Historic Preservation Awards Program of the Preservation League of New York State is funded by a generous grant from the Arthur F. and Alice E. Adams Foundation.