Honoring Role Models in the Field of Historic Preservation

For more than a quarter of a century, the Preservation League has presented the Pillar of New York Award to those who have demonstrated a deep understanding of the value of New York’s historic resources by taking extraordinary actions to protect, preserve and promote those assets. Through the Pillar Awards the League recognizes and applauds those whose unwavering commitment to New York’s cultural and architectural heritage have made them role models throughout the Empire State and beyond.

The Pillar Gala

This annual event is our largest fundraiser of the year.

Past Recipients

  • 2019
    Gregory Long & Janet Ross
    Peter Pennoyer & Anne Walker

  • 2018
    Michael Bruno
    Franny Eberhart

  • 2016
    Bonnie Burnham
    Adele Chatfield-Taylor
    Susan Henshaw Jones

  • 2015
    J. Winthrop Aldrich
    Anne and Thomas Older
    Tania Werbizky
    Kent Barwick
    Laurie Beckelman
    Gene Norman
    Sherida Paulsen
    Jennifer Raab
    Beverly Moss Spatt
    Robert Tierney

  • 2014
    Jeff Greene and EverGreene Architectural Arts
    Marjorie and Gurnee Hart
    Anne & Thomas Hubbard
    Thomas Jayne and Jayne Design Studio

  • 2013
    Elizabeth Barlow Rogers
    The United Nations and Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon

  • 2012
    Margaret L. Wendt Foundation
    Building Conservation Associates, Inc.
    Nicholson & Galloway, Inc.

  • 2011
    Paul LeClerc, President Emeritus, The New York Public Library
    The Leon Levy Foundation and Trustees
    Shelby White and Elizabeth B. Moynihan

  • 2010
    Matthew Bender IV
    Beyer Blinder Belle Architects and
    Planners LLP

  • 2009
    The Pell Family of Fort Ticonderoga
    The Pratt Family of Brooklyn

  • 2008
    Connie & David Clapp
    Tiffany & Co. and the Tiffany & Co. Foundation

  • 2007
    Phyllis Lambert and Teri Wehn Damisch
    BBG Architects, BBGM Interiors and David Beer

  • 2006
    William S. Beinecke
    Cooke + Fox Architects

  • 2005
    Dennis Suskind
    Friends of Hudson

  • 2004
    Honorable George E. Pataki, Governor of the State of New York
    Dia: Beacon, Riggio Galleries

  • 2003
    Frank J. Sciame
    The LuEsther T. Mertz Charitable Trust and The Mertz Gilmore Foundation

  • 2002
    Ronald S. Lauder
    The Chubb Corporation

  • 2001
    Jane Forbes Clark
    The Waldorf Astoria

  • 2000
    Hugh Hardy
    Cablevision Systems Corporation

  • 1999
    Honoring Twenty-Five Years of Leadership of the Preservation League of NYS
    Billie Harrington, President, 1975-77
    Paul Malo, President, 1977-79
    Brendan Gill, President, 1979-81, Chair, 1982-83, Chairman Emeritus 1983-97
    John I Mesick, President, 1981-83
    Susan Henshaw Jones, President, 1983-85
    Anthony N.B. Garvan, Chair, 1984-86
    Rev. Thomas F. Pike, President, 1985-87
    Rev. Thomas Phelan, President, 1987-89
    Cynthia C. Wainwright, President, 1989-91
    Linda Gillies, Chair, 1991-94
    Nancy N. Campbell, Chair, 1994-96
    Anne G. Older, Chair, 1996-99

  • 1998
    The J.M. Kaplan Fund: Three Generations of Giving

  • 1997
    Mr. & Mrs. Arthur Ross

  • 1996
    Mrs. Vincent Astor

  • 1995
    Peggy & David Rockefeller

  • 1994
    Kitty Carlisle Hart
    James Ivory & Ismail Merchant
    Eastman Kodak Company

  • 1993
    Peggie Phipps Boegner
    Dr. & Mrs. Roger Gerry
    Huyler C. Held
    The John Hay Whitney Family
    The Village of East Hampton

  • 1992
    James R. Houghton
    Corning, Inc.